These are transportation-related scholarships and fellowship opportunities that our student members may qualify for, as well as current ITE members who have been awarded one of these scholarships. This list is by no means complete. If you are aware of other opportunities or are a winner of one of these awards, please contact us. We will be announcing programs on the blog as we hear about them.


Georgia Section of ITE Scholarship – Submission Deadline ~November 5

The Georgia Section encourages student involvement in our profession and hopes to develop future Georgia transportation engineers through this scholarship program. The Georgia Section will be providing one or more scholarships this year and the award amount(s) will range from $500 to $4,000. The award makes considerations for both merit and financial need.

The application must be signed by the ITE Student Chapter Advisor, Dr.Tsai. 

ASHE Jim McGee Memorial Scholarship

$1500 award is given each summer to a highway engineering student in Georgia by the Georgia chapter of the American Society of Highway Engineers.

ITS Scholarship – Submission Deadline ~ September 29, 2019 

The ITS Georgia Chapter supports student involvement in the engineering profession and hopes to encourage future Georgia ITS Engineers through the Wayne Shackelford Engineering Scholarship Program. Candidates are asked to submit an essay (maximum of 1,000 words) in response to the following prompt:
Intelligent Transportation System (ITS) Devices can be utilized to handle the “curbside user battle” in the Atlanta area.

WTS Atlanta Chapter Scholarship – Submission Deadline ~Mid-October

WTS fosters the development of women in the transportation field by encouraging bright new professionals to undertake careers in the area of transportation. One way it does this is by awarding the WTS Sharon D. Banks Memorial Scholarship to women pursuing undergraduate studies in transportation or a related field.


SWE Ada I. Pressman Memorial Scholarship – Submission Deadline ~Early February

The SWE Scholarship Program provides financial assistance to women studying community college, baccalaureate or graduate programs, in preparation for careers in engineering, engineering technology and computer science. In 2018, SWE awarded approximately 238 new and renewed scholarships valued at over $830,000.

Transit Hall of Fame – Submission Deadline ~ Early June

Nine $2500 awards from the American Public Transit Foundation. Requires sponsorship by an APTA member, like a transit agency or some larger consulting firms. Due date in June


National Science Foundation Graduate Research

Three-year all-inclusive award for doctoral students. Deadline in mid-November.

Dwight David Eisenhower Transportation

Three levels- $1500 TRB travel stipends, $11,500 grants, and multi-year fellowships from the U.S. Department of Transportation, administered by the Federal Highways Administration. Deadline in January.

Eno Transportation Leadership Conference

One week national leadership development conference sponsored by the Eno Transportation Foundation. Meet with national leaders in transportation policy, including staff from the White House, Congress, and the U.S. Department of Transportation.

Christine Mirzayan Science and Technology Policy Graduate Fellowship Program

10-week science policy fellowship program with the National Academies. Students receive a small stipend to cover their cost of living, get exposed to science policy making in Washington, and have the opportunity to make a substantive contribution to projects under way. It is also an invaluable networking opportunity for policy-oriented students interested in possibly working in Washington.

Airport Cooperative Research Program

Annual program awarding $10,000 for research into airport-related questions. Georgia Tech has had extraordinary success with this fellowship over the last few years.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *